Stefan Artwin,Derek Sherinian: relocator featuring Derek Sherinian at guitar9

The German progressive metal fusion band Relocator has released their long-awaited debut album featuring Derek Sherinian (ex-Dream Theater, Planet X). The eight tracks featured on the CD (a complex, yet melodic and accessible mix of progressive metal and fusion) endured several personnel changes and even a complete breakup of the band before the final group of musicians featured on the album came together. "After the band fell apart in late 2008, I was about to give up on the material," says guitarist and main composer Stefan Artwin. "But the idea to revive Relocator as a project instead of as a regular band turned out to be the right one - in one year we managed to accomplish what previous Relocator lineups had failed to do in four years." The new Relocator project reunited Artwin with bassist Michael Pruchnicki, one of the band's original founders: Pruchnicki got both Frank Tinge (drummer) and Bartek Strycharski (electric violinist) involved and ended up co-producing the album.