Thursday, 21 May 2009

Thomas Blug: soul and pepper cd

New CD of the Thomas Blug Band

“Soul and Pepper”, Thomas Blug’s most ambitious album release to date, is a cooperative effort with Thijs van Leer (the legendary creator and head of the 70’s band Focus), Thomas and other band members. This project has solidified the Thomas Blug Band’s place as one of the hottest musical commodities in Europe. The CD has the accessibility of pop while maintaining the freedom and sophistication of jazz. A seamless blend of Blug's blazing guitar licks and Leer's funky style makes this album a must have for any jazz or fusion enthusiast.
shop buy, uk buy and cd baby buy


1. Welcome To The Future (Visions Reloaded)* (7.36)
2. My House Is Green (4.01)
3. I Won´ t Forget (6.59)
4. Summer Rain* (5.02)
5. Aqua Di Mare (6.17)
6. Come Back Again* (4.57)
7. Lost & Found (7.39)
8. T ´n´ T (Thomas ´n´ Thijs) (8.09)
9. Stratking 2009 (4.50)
10. Paul´s Blues (9.42)

Musicans: Thomas Blug (Guitar), Thijs van Leer (B3, Flute, Vocoder), Raoul Walton (Bass), Wolf Simon (Drums), Bernie Wittmann (Keys, Strings)

* featuring Berenice van Leer (Vocals)

Dreist feat Thomas Blug im Bahnhof Würzbach am 30.04.09

Adam Hughes Henry: jazz butcher goes web

Adam Hughes Henry reminds me that the Ashes tour draws near and time for England is running out... I say "What is Ricky Ponting going to do without his favourite drinking buddy Andrew Symons?".

Back to the world of guitar, Adam Hughes Henry, has a new web site with lessons and music to purchase. He also does session work... check out this multi talented player.

The debut CD from Circadia - CASUAL ENLIGHTENMENT is almost here!
This project is built on an instrumental collaboration between three independent artists.

CIRCADIA casual enlightenment Based on the concept of tuning in to our natural circadian ryhthms, these compositions are a soundtrack for contemplation and dreaming. This is reflected in the guitar, bass and drum loops that form the back bone of this recording.

Weaving themselves around these loops are intricate layers of experiemental interplay between the musicians. The end result is a dreamy post-modern mix of art-rock, world, jazz, fusion, blues and electronica.
Sample and buy

Sean Baker: bakers dozen rusty cooley, joe stump and bruce bouillet join the party


Released June 19th 2009

A Michigan native Sean Baker was an early starter on guitar some 25 years ago, and has risen to popularity amongst the shred community thanks to his self released debut “The Sean Baker Orchestra” along with numerous features in Guitar Player magazine and the legendary Mike Varney's "Spotlight” column. Now with his second album “Baker’s Dozen” set for release on June 19th 2009 on Lion Music, Sean Baker is ready to bring his brand of intense guitar to a wider audience.

“Baker’s Dozen” is home to 13 very heavy instrumental tracks with tons of melodies, and face smashing hooks. It features guest solos by Rusty Cooley (“Verbal Skillz”), Joe Stump (“Neo-Classical Gas”), and a track co-written and featuring Racer X guitarist Bruce Bouillet (“Playing Opposum”) who also added his mixing skills to the album. In addition to his undoubted shred guitar skills, Sean is an accomplished classical player as well as having the innate ability to coax the most vicious and punishing sounds out of the fiddle.

Having taught guitar for several years, Baker has a deep fundamental knowledge of music that lends a unique perspective to his compositions. While maintaining a strong musicality, Baker is also able to express the angst, aggression and deep-rooted passion that is at the essence of his sound.

On the album Sean comments, “The first CD was such a success, that I wanted to take the new CD where the first one left off, which I think we did a good job of doing that. My personal goal was to make "the loudest, most aggressive, melodic, shredding, head-banging album on the planet”. The first CD was a wide array of short songs. The new album is more complex in its writing and length of the songs themselves. I really wanted this CD to be our "Master of Puppets". I think we accomplished that”.

On his fellow band mates (Cmak Ashtiani – guitars, Lawrence Wilson – drums and David Donigian – Bass), Sean states, “My band ROCKS!! I've been playing with these guys for four years now. We're tighter then I ever could have imagined. These guys are dedicated to their craft, and it shows. They have brought everything and then some. I'm REALLY proud of the band....we've come along way. They put in everything they got into the new CD. These guys deserve all the credit they get. I'm one lucky guitarist!”

With “Baker’s Dozen”, Sean Baker is not looking to change the world, or worry about current musical trends. Quite simply it’s a fun album with a shed load of virtuoso guitar work for those that can still take it raw with zero pretence but with a great attitude.

01) Dukes of New York.
02) Pummel U.
03) Ballvice.
04) Neo-Classical Gas.
05) 7/24/04.
06) Steve's Blackout.
07) Playing Opposum.
08) Poindexter.
09) Highway Star.
10) Mike Varney's Mexican Vacation.
11) Whichway to Radioland?
12) Verbal Skillz.
13) 2 part Invention in C major.

Sean Baker - guitars
Cmak Ashtiani - guitars
Lawrence Wilson - drums
David Donigian – Bass

Rusty Cooley - guitar on "Verbal Skillz"
Bruce Bouillet - guitar on "Playing Opposum"
Joe Stump - guitar on "Neo-Classical Gas"

Joe Satriani: chickenfoot full tour dates coming

Brave words post:
CHICKENFOOT guitarist JOE SATRIANI, on the eventuality of more dates for North America as ‘feet start walkin’. “We have over… between August 2 and September 30, there’s a 34 city tour that is almost completely booked at the moment. Generally with the way those things go, they wait ‘til the very last shows before they release the dates, before they do the press release and say, ‘OK, get your tickets now.’ So we are, starting, whatever it is, the night after tomorrow, whatever, in Chicago, all the way through September, we’re completely booked. Between North America and Europe. And once those get released, we’ll start looking beyond September 30.”
full post

Chickenfoot - Bitten By The Wolf - The Roxy 5/19/09

News: dimarzio catalgoue

Dimarzio catalogue has been posted, The new 2009 DiMarzio Catalog is now available to download...

News: guitar/chords/full list standard tuning

A great chord resource for guitar players, here's just a small snippet

A or Amaj [0 4 x 2 5 0] (Db E A) : major triad
A or Amaj [5 7 7 6 5 5] (Db E A) : major triad
A or Amaj [x 0 2 2 2 0] (Db E A) : major triad
A or Amaj [x 4 7 x x 5] (Db E A) : major triad
A #5 or Aaug [x 0 3 2 2 1] (Db F A) : augmented triad
A #5 or Aaug [x 0 x 2 2 1] (Db F A) : augmented triad

full list:

Milan Polak: more prestidigitation.

More prestidigitation from Milan Polak.

Milan Polak:
This is a song which originally appeared on one of M. Varney's "Guitar On The Edge - The World's Hottest Guitarists" compilations in '94. This actual version can be found on my CD "Guitar Odyssey" (Lion Music). I had to cut the song in the end - the 2nd part can be found as "Absolutely Shred".

Absolutely Positive - Milan Polak (one of Guitar World's fastest 50 guitarists)

Milan Polak:
The ending of a song called "Absolutely Positive" which originally appeared on one of M. Varney's "Guitar On The Edge - The World's Hottest Guitarists" compilations and later was re-recorded for my CD "Guitar Odyssey" (Lion Music). It's more or less just fast shred but hey, who cares...? ;-)

Absolutely Shred - Milan Polak (one of Guitar World's fastest 50 guitarists)

01) Murphy's Law.
02) No God.
03) Inner Truth.
04) Losing Me.
05) Wannabes.
06) The Opposite Of Love.
07) Sheeple.
08) Torn.
09) Alien Nation.
10) Fake.
11) The Mystery Of Life.

Maranhão: testing the tagima arrow2

Maranhão, tests out his new guitar.

Armagedon - by Maranhão - Teste Tagima ARROW2