Sebastiaan Cornelissen, Anton Davidyants, Martin Miller, Gary Husband, Ray Russell: Spirit vs. Origin new album

1. Spirit (feat. Martin Miller) 03:01
2. Origin (feat. Gary Husband) 03:30
3. The Uncommon (feat. Anton Davidyants) 04:54
4. Advanced Planning (feat. Anton Davidyants) 04:15
5. Plexi-Jazz (feat. Anton Davidyants)03:53
6. Infatuous 7 (feat. Ray Russell) 04:06
7. Deflated 8 03:19
8. Megane '97 03:07
9. Mini-Bitz 2.0 03:47
10. Unbound (feat. Rob van Bavel) 05:12
11. Infatuous 7 - alternative take 04:05
12. Advanced Planning - alternative take04:13

all songs written and produced by Sebastiaan Cornelissen

Martin Miller, Anton Davidyants, Gary Husband, Ray Russell. Rob van Bavel & Frans Vollink

During the whole process of making this album, I've tried to do things a little bit different compared to my previous releases.
I've done quite a few and every project has been quite a long term adventure, coming across so many problems, delays, set-backs and all other issues you can think of. That's all rather normal and 'no biggy' because it is part of the game.

But just as a personal statement, I set a goal for myself a few months ago to decide on a deadline and without looking back, doing the impossible. 1st of May 2016, no matter what… and without rushing just to finish a tune. I feel I gave it my very best, and I'm actually really proud of how it turned out!

I was brought up listening to albums (vinyl and cassette tapes at the time), in a time where artists and bands didn't release 15-track records, due to the available space on the LP, I guess. But I enjoyed those a lot. Having tunes on there where you could kind of feel they had to choose the best ones. In this case, there are loads more compositions on my laptop. Because of the deadline, it was important to pick out the ones that were gonna work out the way they were meant to be.
But I did not do that alone. The contributions by Anton Davidyants, Martin Miller, Ray Russell and Gary Husband have been so helpful, inspiring, amazing and meaningful for the project! Can't thank them enough!

The title "Spirit vs. Origin" was inspired by this amazing new microphone company called Aston. They sent me a few mics before I got started with this project. I got blown away by the sound and many of the tracks on the album actually emerged out of experiments with the 2 models. I would make a loop out of recording the weirdest things and one thing would lead to another every time.

I sincerely hope you will appreciate my efforts and, well, meet you at the next deadline?


Big thanks to Hoshino Benelux (Jeroen Bakx), Sonic Distributions (James Young), Tama drums, Evans drumheads, Promark Sticks, Zildjian, Focusrite, my loving family, Rania Mebarki, Peter Huppertz, Helge Rudolph, Steve Lukather and the Tristan-brothers & sister of course.

Dedicated to my most wonderful two sons Caspar Tristan & Lewis.
released May 1, 2016