George Bellas, Marco Minnemann: announces the new album "Astral Projection"

George Bellas The new album "Astral Projection" Coming June 21st, 2013
Available through

Screaming Guitar, Eccentric Rhythms, Outlandish Sounds, and Grandiose Forms are just some words to describe “Astral Projection” the killer new album from world acclaimed guitar virtuoso George Bellas out on 21st June 2013 via Lion Music.

"Astral Projection" is an amalgamation of guitar saturated songs and epic progressive instrumentals packed with chaotic guitar improvisations; mind-twisting rhythms; emotionally intense lyrical themes; and advanced explorations of modern melodic, harmonic and rhythmic principles that are combined with classical elements of counterpoint, harmony and form.

Once again (and as with his previous 3 releases) George has teamed up with drummer extraordinaire Marco Minnemann with Bellas handling all guitar, bass, and keyboard duties. George comments, “It’s always a pleasure working with Marco and hearing him humanise the drum parts I composed and also add his unique sense of style and finesse. Some of the songs on this album have very complex rhythms (nothing new there!). I think when some people hear it they may not realise the complexity and just how difficult some of those rhythms are to play. Ever since I was very young I have always written very naturally using odd-meters, poly-meters, and other uncommon metric devices”.

George has also seen fit to go against the modern day trend of cramming as much volume onto a recording as possible and has produced a more dynamic release for it, “Sonically, as with my previous album, I wanted to retain the full dynamic range of the recordings. So, during the mastering stage I didn’t remove any peaks and kept it very open sounding, which will be clear, dynamic and spacious sounding when played loud. Because no peaks were limited or squashing of any dynamics were done, Marco’s drums are punchy and will hit you like a ten ton truck”.

Whilst “Astral Projection” might be the follow up release to 2010’s “The Dawn Of Time” (Lion Music), this is not the first album of new material Bellas has created in this time, “After the release of my previous album “The Dawn of Time” I had a new album ready to go weeks after but had several other ideas that I also wanted to compose and develop, so I decided to release “Astral Projection” first and then the other albums afterwards. I learned a lesson to not announce a new album until you know it will be the next one released. But the truth is, I have so much music and am constantly writing that it is sometimes difficult to decide which one I want to publish next”.

01. Into The Unknown.
02. Dimensional Portal.
03. Out of Body.
04. Fabric of Space and Time.
05. Hyperspace.
06. Rip In The Continuum.
07. Curiosity.
08. Apparition.
09. Magnetic Anomaly.
10. Tipler’s Cylinder.
11. Visiting An Alien World.
12. Interdimensional Travel.
13. Heightened Awareness.
14. On The Other Side.
15. Transcendental.