Steve Vai, Dave Weiner: Stillness in Motion: Vai Live in L.A (CD or DVD Option)

Steve Vai (vocals, guitar); Dave Weiner (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Deborah Henson-Conant (vocals, electric harp); Jeremy Colson (vocals, drums); Philip Bynoe (vocals).

Steve Vai's first album for Sony/Legacy is Stillness in Motion, a double-live set -- it's available as a two-CD/two-DVD package -- that captures the guitarist's October 12, 2012 concert at Club Nokia in Los Angeles. This is, for want of a better word, something of an extravaganza: 22 tracks over the course of 130 minutes, Vai dipping into nearly every phase of his career. He's as precise on-stage as he is in the studio, which may mean Stillness in Motion lacks the kinetic energy that is the hallmark of so many great live albums. What it has instead is fluidity: Vai and his backing band may specialize in pyrotechnics, but there's a grace to the playing on even the frenetic numbers, and that lyricism may be eye-opening to skeptics. To the converted, it is certainly a good reason to dive into this generous live set.

Disc 1
01 Intro/Racing the World
02 Velorum
03 Band Intros
04 Building the Church
05 Tender Surrender
06 Gravity Storm
07 Weeping China Doll
08 John the Revelator
09 The Moon And I
10 The Animal
11 Whispering a Prayer

Disc 2
01 The Audience Is Listening
02 Rescue Me Or Bury Me
03 Sisters
04 Treasure Island
05 Salamanders In the Sun
06 Pusa Road
07 Frank
08 The Ultra Zone
09 Build Me a Song L.A.
10 For the Love of God
11 Taurus Bulba